setrflorida.blogg.se

Mac sierra force empty trash terminal
Mac sierra force empty trash terminal







mac sierra force empty trash terminal mac sierra force empty trash terminal
  1. #MAC SIERRA FORCE EMPTY TRASH TERMINAL MAC OSX#
  2. #MAC SIERRA FORCE EMPTY TRASH TERMINAL DRIVERS#

If things are implemented reasonably well, normally nothing bad should happen.

#MAC SIERRA FORCE EMPTY TRASH TERMINAL DRIVERS#

This all depends on the mount type, which drivers are in use etc. In the bad case it wasn't empty, just appeared to be, which means, you trashed something which you perhaps did not want to kill. In the good case the directory really was empty, so removing it (destroying the mount etc.) did no further harm. If you now force removal of the directory, very bad things can happen. It is very likely that the directory in question was just a mount point (from the encfs) or residing on a mount point which became readonly or stuck in some improper state (which prevented the directory to be removed). Please note that I do not know OS-X, but I think things there are very similar to the Unix/BSD behavior. If this does not work, you need to find out, what blocks this request, fix that and then retry the rmdir. In nearly all cases, if a directory seems to be empty, use rmdir directory or perhaps sudo rmdir directory. So, there's another answer for what it's worth another potential solution to this problem if it should appear for anyone in conjunction with a network disk.īeware rm -rf in such a case! It can create problems somewhere else in case it happen to be a network share! You have been warned! Rm -rf dirname from a login on the network disk server properly removed the directory along with its contents. I had never encountered trouble deleting these files when they had been written onto an internal, USB, or Firewire drive this was the first time I'd found them on a network disk completely undetectable from the client side of the mount, but normal in every way when viewed from the server side. _filename types of files started appearing when using the usual forms of cp, tar, etc).

mac sierra force empty trash terminal

I had deduced at the time that they were used to properly reset some file properties after the move - maybe uid/gid, mode, acls, mtime/utime/ctime, etc I'm not really sure - properties which had not been getting reset correctly by those commands before that time (I remember that OSX used to include mvmac and cpmac commands to work around the problem before these.

#MAC SIERRA FORCE EMPTY TRASH TERMINAL MAC OSX#

I believe these are, or are similar to, files which I first noted Mac OSX creating years ago when using cp -R, tar, or cpio to archive or move groups of files. _filename items with extended security information (i.e., + appended to the mode). I logged into the network disk server via the ssh command and checked ls -al there. The directory in question was on a network-mounted diskĪny ls attempt from Finder or command line showed nothing but. I do not know if there may have been any additional points unintentionally left unstated from the original question, but in my case the root of the trouble, and the solution was: I had already tried all of the suggestions I've read here before I searched and found this thread. I ran into exactly this error while also trying to remove a directory (rm -r dirname). I'll leave this unanswered for now in case anyone has a good answer for that. I still don't know why I couldn't do it from the decrypted side of things like I normally do. I was able to track down the corresponding folder in the encrypted side of things and delete it there. I ended up having to reboot the computer by pressing and holding the power key.Įdit to add: Another important piece of information I left off was that this was happening in an encrypted folder à la encfs. I've tried doing xattr -d, purely out of superstition, but it did no good.Ī probably important piece of context is that this directory was initially in a directory that should've been deleted by a "make clean" command I issued prior to Terminal locking up on me, after which a little over half of the other programs I had running also locked up, including Skype, and eventually the OS itself. The operation can’t be completed because the item “empty_directory” is If I try the same thing using Finder (dragging the folder to the Trash), I get the message Rmdir: empty_directory/: Directory not empty Rm: empty_directory/: Directory not emptyīens-MacBook-Pro:please benjaminhocking$ rmdir empty_directory/ īens-MacBook-Pro:please benjaminhocking$ rm -rf empty_directory/ ĭrwxr-xr-x 3 benjaminhocking staff 102 Aug 27 15:28. I've tried deleting a directory using "rm -rf" and I'm getting the message "Directory not empty": Bens-MacBook-Pro:please benjaminhocking$ ls -lart empty_directory/ĭrwxr-xr-x 5 benjaminhocking staff 170 Aug 27 14:46.









Mac sierra force empty trash terminal